Start Here
Help
0Cart
  • Your Shopping Cart is empty.
    Fill it with the best Art Glass supplies or gifts on the planet.

    If you already have an account, sign in. View Cart (0 items)
Hello. Sign in Your Account
Email or Username
Password
Forgot password?
facebook Login
Not a member yet? Sign Up Now!          
Please enter your email and postal code below. We will send you an email to change your password.
Email
Postal Code
An email has been sent with instruction for changing your password.
Search  
Glass Finder
Free Catalog
Artist GalleryArtist Gallery
Email Newsletters
go!
Delphi Personalized Offers
Hot Glass Newsletter
Lansing Store Newsletter
Stained Glass Newsletter
[ more info ]
RSS RSS Feeds
Sign up to receive email newsletters, account updates and special offers targeted to your interests, sent to you by DelphiGlass.com.


12 Square Vermiculite Board

12" Square Vermiculite Board

$8.95 USD
QUANTITY: add item
Item# 92807
In Stock     Usually ships in 1 to 2 business days.

Go back to 12" Square Vermiculite Board....
Review Summary ( write a review )
Average Product Rating : 35 stars
Number of Reviews : 8
Great Product 5 stars
By KimQueen on July 29, 2013 - See all my reviews
Pros : Easy to cut, holds up during firing. Can be used for small or larger projects!
Cons : Little messy after being cut.
Other Thoughts : This product has held up for many uses through out the last few years.
Was this review helpful to you?  
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Interesting. 4 stars
By dslds on July 29, 2013 - See all my reviews
Pros : Makes great molds!!!
Cons : Hard to cut.
Was this review helpful to you?  
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Ugh 1 stars
By Critterdom on November 23, 2012 - See all my reviews
Pros :
Cons : I'd hoped to use these as molds/shelves, but they just don't work that way.
Was this review helpful to you?  
4 of 6 people found this review helpful
cheap crap 1 stars
By marcgordon on November 19, 2012 - See all my reviews
Pros : It's cheap!
Cons : This is the cheapest grade vermiculite I've ever seen, crumbles, dusty, guaranteed to wreck whatever you're working on . I bought it to confine casting pieces and found it a total waste. No matter how careful you are it will wind up in your piece.
Was this review helpful to you?  
6 of 7 people found this review helpful
Versatile 5 stars
By starrvelez on August 10, 2012 - See all my reviews
Pros : I love these! Not only can you get the perfect shape you desire, but it accepts the high temps in the kiln. It is perfect for my creative glass stylings and allows for more creativity.
Cons : A little messy to cut, but with practice and a great blade nothing is impossible.
Other Thoughts : Don't confuse this with the other high fire boards, the versatility and size of this are perfect for platters to ornaments. Your imagination dictates.
Was this review helpful to you?  
4 of 7 people found this review helpful
Warning Produces CO in Kiln 2 stars
By aslan96 on May 2, 2011 - See all my reviews
Pros : Sturdy easy to cut and light weight.
Cons : Produces Carbon Monoxoide when fired in a kiln. It set off my CO detector once it got over 1100 degrees.
Other Thoughts : This should come with a warning on it that when it is fired in a kiln it produces dangerous levels of Carbon Monoxide.
Was this review helpful to you?  
25 of 27 people found this review helpful
Great product overall 4 stars
By tanyabrennan (top contributor) on March 6, 2010 - See all my reviews
Pros : I love working with the vermiculite boards. They are great for "building" glass pieces on in layers and not having to carry something to the kiln that is not steady. I find them incredibly handy. They are also great for making tons of dots. Line them with thin fire and use your scraps to make dots. Fire once the board is full. It is low profile, so I can keep it in a drawer and keep working with it until full.
Cons : I stilted a board ONCE and it warped at 1500. I won't be able to use it again. I was very surprised that it bowed in the middle. Two pieces were ruined because of the warping. I still love these boards and will just never stilt mine again.
Other Thoughts : You can cut these boards into shapes and sizes, which is very handy. The vermiculite does leave some board powder residue behind on the kiln shelf after firing.
Was this review helpful to you?  
33 of 35 people found this review helpful
Vermiculite Board 5 stars
By janeeve on October 28, 2009 - See all my reviews
Pros : I LOVE THESE!!! I cut the 12" tiles into 4 piece to use in my kiln. They are perfect as I can still get my hands in when setting the tile down in the kiln. This allows me to set the tile in while keeping it perfectly flat. Nothing falls off, and I don't have to re-adjust anything before I close the lid! I have used them again and again and again. I have used thin-fire sheets on them for the most part, but find that after several firings there is enough of the powder left from the sheets that I can actually do several firings without anything. You go get a rougher back on the glass, but I don't care as most of my pieces I bead around so the back is covered any way. I have had the glass grab the tiles from time to time, so I would still recommend the thin fire. Using kiln shelves with kiln wash, etc. is just not my thing. I don't like having to re-coat the tiles again, and again. Also, I take my glass out when it is still pretty hot so these are great!
Cons : They are kind of messy...but that is the only negative I have. Of course, you can't use kiln wash with them as they can't get wet. But I prefer thin fire sheets any way.
Other Thoughts : Wish they made these for high fire ceramics...say to 2300 degrees or at least Cone 6.
Was this review helpful to you?  
66 of 69 people found this review helpful

Be the first to know about new products, exclusive offers and all things DELPHI.

Plus, get 10% off your first purchase.

Yes       No

Thank you for joining our email list.